Prime Minister’s Science Prizes announced

Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods today announced the winners of the Prime Minister’s Science Prizes.

The awards, presented by Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern at Parliament, are:

Prime Minister’s Science Prize: $500,000 – awarded to Plant & Food Research (team entry, led by Chief Operating Officer Dr Bruce Campbell)

• Prime Minister’s MacDiarmid Emerging Scientist Prize: $200,000 – awarded to Dr Carla Meledandri, University of Otago

• Prime Minister’s Science Teacher Prize: $150,000 – awarded to Sarah Johns, Nelson College for Girls

• Prime Minister’s Science Media Communication Prize: $100,000 – awarded to Damian Christie, SciFilms

• Prime Minister’s Future Scientist Prize: $50,000 – awarded to Jonathan Chan, Auckland Boys’ Grammar School.

Dr Woods congratulated the recipients and their families, supporters, colleagues and friends.

She said the awards are a chance to celebrate the achievements of some of New Zealand’s top scientists and draw attention to the impact that science has in our society and all our lives.

“All the recipients here today are role models who play a part in inspiring others to become involved with science. I want to congratulate all of the award winners on their commitment to promoting science.

“As with previous winners, those receiving awards today will go on to become excellent ambassadors for science here in New Zealand and overseas,” says Megan Woods.

You can learn more about the Prime Minister’s Science Prizes HERE.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s