New chairs for three Crown Research Institutes

Science and Innovation Minister Steven Joyce has announced several appointments and reappointments to the boards of the seven Crown research institutes (CRIs), which carry out scientific research for the benefit of New Zealand.

Three of the CRIs had new chairs from 1 July. Denise Church chairs the Institute of Environmental Science and Research , Nicki Crauford chairs the Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences, and Jane Taylor took over as chair of Landcare Research.

Chris Mace was reappointed for a further two years as chair of the National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research.

Mr Joyce also appointed four new directors and reappointed 10 directors across the CRI boards. The new appointments include Colin Dawson (New Zealand Institute for Plant & Food Research), Michael Pohio (NIWA), Paul Reynolds (AgResearch) and Caroline Saunders (Landcare).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s